Ultimate People

Community Medical Foundation’s Ultimate People award goes to individuals or organizations that have gone above and beyond in their commitment and support of Community Medical Centers over the last year.

Nomination criteria for the award include a strong reputation for professional excellence, helping Community create a culture of philanthropy, and giving back through generous contributions. The extraordinary work of these people represents the philanthropic spirit that is Community Medical Centers. The 2013 Ultimate People are:

Hilda Herrera

Hilda Herrera has a heart for customer service. She has worked as an ambassador for Community Regional Medical Center for five years and has been with Community for 13. And if you’ve ever visited the hospital, you know she is front and center at the information desk -- always willing to help and answer questions for patients, visitors and their families. Herrera’s colleagues say she always has a positive attitude and a smile on her face. She learned this while working at her family’s tortilla shop where she learned the value of how to treat customers – with the utmost respect. Herrera continues to give back to Community through employee giving and is a role model for others. 

Dr. Gloria Jimenez

Dr. Jimenez is all heart. Her colleagues say her warm personality shows through by the way she treats her patients - always putting them first. They are often surprised when she checks on them on her day off. Dr. Jimenez works as a hospitalist at Fresno Heart & Surgical Hospital and shows her care for patients and those around her through her compassion and commitment. Dr. Jimenez grew up and went to medical school in Columbia, South America. She later came to the states to continue her medical career, and it was during her residency at Charles Drew UCLA School of Medicine where she decided to become a hospitalist. Dr. Jimenez is the lead physician of the Community Hospitalist Medical Group at Fresno Heart & Surgical, which gives back to several areas at Community including the Clovis expansion project. Dr. Jimenez  was also elected for a second term as chair of medicine for the hospital.  

Dr. Jeffrey Thomas

Known for his caring, “good-hearted” nature, Dr. Thomas is well loved and respected by his staff, colleagues and patients. He is a man who has always gone above and beyond for patient quality and care.Dr. Thomas is a model physician leader in many ways including leading philanthropic efforts by working with colleagues and staff to create a culture of philanthropy throughout the Community network. A Fresno native who graduated from the UCSF OB/GYN training program in 2001, Dr. Thomas was a chief resident at University Medical Center during his residency and has been a leader in his profession ever since – from his time spent as president of medical staff to chairing the patient quality safety committee. He enjoys spending time with his wife, Heidi, their three children and enjoys all of the outdoor activities that Fresno living affords.  

Community Medical Center Guild

Since 1954, the Guild has never stopped supporting Clovis Community Medical Center. Members volunteer countless hours – more than 2,500 hours a month – and work on special projects to help the hospital. They run the gift shop and donate funds from it back to the hospital. The Clovis Community Guild’s untiring volunteer efforts include a recent $250,000 pledge to benefit the more than 3,400 babies (and families) born in Clovis each year and marks the Guild at the highest giving level at the hospital. Through the years, the Guild has given thousands of hours and donations to help in areas like the gift shop, expansion projects, cardiac catheterization lab, waiting rooms, new televisions for patient rooms – and most recently – the water fountain feature that welcomes guests to the new Clovis Community campus entrance.

 Hall of Fame

Dr. Steven Parks

Jeff DiMarco, R.N.
Dr. Gene Kallsen
Bob Putnam, R.N.
Dr. Michael Weilert

Dr. Mark Cunningham
Sherri Evert
Mary Lou Johnson
Dr. Krista Kaups
Bruce Kinder, R.N.

Jim Christian
Hope Donoho
Jeff Kroeker
Dr. Kenneth O'Brien
Pete P. Peters
Dr. Michael Synn

Dr. Mary Hill
Ed Musso, R.N.
Radin Foundation
Dr. Krishna Rajani
Dr. Joseph Woo Jr.